Friday 11th November 2011

The meeting was held in the of the Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Cambridge in the centre of Cambridge at 1745 hrs.

THE PRESIDENT started the meeting: Apologies for absence had been received but were not read out

Mr Andrew Camilleri and Bhavin Visavadia were welcomed to the Club

Minutes of the last meeting were agreed .

Following the Honorary Treasurer's report which showed a very healthy balance for the club, the treasurer suggested that the surplus might be used to subsidise the entertaining of the Club's Hosts at overseas meetings, since this burden was otherwise shared by the relatively small number of members attending. This was agreed unanimously. The accounts were verified by 2 club members.

The Honorary Secretary reported a very successful year for the club and that there were 2 new retirements; those of David Patton and Andrew Sadler. The committee had decided that Andrew Mclennan should have his membership terminated due to repeated non-payment of subscriptions and Mr Jerry Kearns for non-attendance. This was endorsed by the membership, who also gave their unanimous approval to 4 new members: Andrew Baldwin, Simon Holmes, Peter Revington and Helen Witherow. At the time of writing this summary Peter Revington was the only proposed to have graced with me a reply to the invitation (affirmative), proposers please note as I have better things to do than chase people.

AOB

The President and other committee members felt that the number of active members should be increased slightly to 55 to take account of increased consultant appointments and an increase in honorary members. This will be discussed at next years meeting. Also the rule regarding the transfer of Active to Honorary Membership was verified1):

Active membership is open to those appointed to an NHS consultant post of at least 6 sessions (or equivalent in the University or Armed Services.) Any subsequent reduction of sessions will not affect active membership status.

2) Honorary membership is offered either on reaching the age of 65 or on retiring fully from an appointment as defined in 1) above, whichever is the sooner.

Hence, independent practice or non-clinical NHS work such as Trust Chair would not affect the above

President's Report : Andrew Lyons was to finish his 3 year term as secretary and having thanked Andrew , announced his replacement as Tim Mellor, who had kindly agreed to be the new Secretary. John Bradley was to be replaced by Andrew Saddler as Archivist, having thanked John. Mick Gilhooly had kindly agreed to replace Nick Baker as an ordinary committee member. Andrew Saddler had agreed to become archivist. After the thanking of John Bradley as Archivist, for his excellent service. It was pointed out that death was not the only exit from this post! Jim Herold has been suggested as President in 2013. There was broad agreement from the membership. Ken Lavery proceeded to present David Adlam with the Semelvies Medal as the New President for 2012 amid applause from the membership

The 2012 committee would hence be

David Adlam

Current President

Jim Herold	2013 President Elect
Tim Mellor	Honorary Secretary
Andrew Brown	Honorary Treasurer
Mick Gilhooly	Ordinary member
Jonathon Hayter	Ordinary member
Andrew Sadler	Archivist